Alternatives to new Oly 300mm f4

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by pcovers, Feb 12, 2016.

1. pcovers

pcovers Mu-43 Regular

Aug 13, 2015
    You can get a new Canon 70-300mm f4-5.6L IS USM for $1350. Add a Metabones auto focus adapter and you are ready to go with one of the sharpest zooms on the market for about $1750. I see the Amazon price for the new Oly 300mm is $2500.

Both lenses are weather and dust sealed. I have been using the Canon/Metabones on my em5 Mk ii for a few months now and continues to operate fully as if it were a native Olympus lens. EXIF data, auto focus through the full aperture range, just a great combination. The one feature it does not support is continuous focus. Considering that you can pick up a near mint 70-300mm L for around $850, it makes the Canon/Metabones combo a great option when looking for exceptional glass out to 300mm range.

I've seen the reviews and posted images of the new Oly 300mm and they all look beautiful I am certain it will be a great lens. $2500 for a single focal length it above my price point. But for those with the money, I'm sure it will be an enjoyable ownership experience.

Don't discount the exceptional Canon lenses out there with the Metabones adapter as an alternative.

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. bigboysdad

bigboysdad Mu-43 All-Pro

Aug 25, 2013
    Sydney/ London
    Well I can safely say do not consider the Tokina 300mm f/6.3 reflex lens as an alternative, folks. But then I can see from the lack of a showcase thread for that lens on this forum, that you all know that anyway. Only spent a very small sum 'investing' in this lens, so not much harm done.

Last edited: Feb 12, 2016
  3. wjiang

wjiang Mu-43 Hall of Famer

I'm assuming you mean the Tokina 300mm f/6.3 reflex?

• Like Like x 1
  4. bigboysdad

bigboysdad Mu-43 All-Pro

Aug 25, 2013
    Sydney/ London
    Thanks and duly edited.

5. Phocal

Phocal Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jan 3, 2014