Again... GF1 / EP2 / Something else??

Discussion in 'This or That?' started by Janus, Aug 13, 2010.

1. Janus

Janus New to Mu-43

Aug 13, 2010
    I realise this issue has been dealt with many many times before on this forum and elsewhere, but I'm still hoping to find some new insight. As the title suggests I'm currently thinking about getting a m4/3 camera. I have been shooting with a Nikon D50 for the past four years and though it is now bruised and outdated, it still serves me well. It basically has all the functions I need. The Nikon D90 would be a natural successor, but I find the m4/3 camera's highly attractive. I'll outline my reasons for this below. I think they're pretty standard so feel free to skip the next paragraph if you've heard it all before :wink:

First off, I've always felt very conspicuous with a DSLR. Everybody seems to have one nowadays, so it's somewhat better, but still... People look at it, react to it, change their behaviour. I hate that. I'm planning a trip to South East Asia and I don't want to walk around looking like a wide-eyed tourist. I think m4/3 camera's will attract less attention. Second, and this is related to my first point, DSLR's are too bulky. I can't take my D50 + lens to a bar very easily. It's not pocketable. I can't hold it in my hand easily. So, I miss shots because it's in my backpack or even back in the hotel / at home. To be honest, it's a pain to take with me pretty much wherever I go.

What I want from a m4/3 camera
    I never shoot auto. All I use is P/A/S/M modes. So I need a body that gives me quick, easy access to settings like ISO, exposure compensation, etc. If I have to go through a menu to do that, it's not going to work. I will probably need a viewfinder. I do not need art filters and the like. I would, however, like a flash for social snaps. I'm also going to shoot in 3:2, simply because I like it better than 4:3.

Now, I've looked mainly at the GF1 and the E-P2. Pro's and cons to me are: