1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Advice sought on OM-D EM-5 setup for photos during surgery

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by silicone, Feb 23, 2013.

1. silicone

silicone New to Mu-43

Feb 22, 2013
    Hello all and thank you in advance for advice!

I am a plastic surgeon planning to purchase a photo system for use in photographing patients, primarily for body photographs and for use during surgery inside a body cavity. The latter is an area that even expensive point and shoot autofocus cameras often fail because their mechanisms mistakenly focus on the surrounding skin being retracted rather than the subject I would like to photograph. The flashes also frequently create harsh shadows inside the cavity or wash out the image details. I will need to capture fine detail of tissue, so I need to use macro capabilities sometimes. Needless to say, the camera needs to operate quickly and reliably since I'm standing there with a patient under anesthesia! The picture quality needs to be as high as possible--good enough for publication in journals and textbooks as well as for presentation use blown up on a big screen for an audience. I will also use the camera for travel, casual and family use and assume any setup that meets the above requirements will probably be more than sufficient for casual and hobbyist use.

I have used relatively sophisticated point-and-shoot cameras in the past but they fail for this work (too slow, poor focus and flash) and also owned a Nikon D100 but found that it collected dust because of its size and weight.

This has led me to consider the following setup:

OM-D EM-5 with 12-50 kit lens