Advice--someone wants to buy a photo

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by sammykhalifa, May 16, 2018.

1. sammykhalifa

sammykhalifa Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 22, 2012
    Pittsburgh PA
    Neil
    Hey all,
    This isn't directly 4/3 related but I thought someone here might have some good advice for me. Several months ago a posted a cell phone photo in a forum. It was nice, but just a cell phone shot after all.

I was really surprised a week ago when someone contacted me saying they wanted to buy a print of it! They don't want it for commercial use but just as a gift for a family member. I was really happy but a little disappointed it wasn't one of my "real" pictures. ;)

What's a fair price to tell them for something like that? I already have a PRO-100 (just had to get it back up and working after several months online), and tried out an 8x10 print that looks pretty good. I'm no pro, and had no material costs besides one piece of paper, shipping, some very minimal LR cropping/editing, and the spontaneous shot I took late last year. Don't want to be greedy but it WOULD be nice to cover maybe some ink for this thirsty beast of a printer. ;)

IMG_20180514_214319~2.jpg

Last edited: May 16, 2018
  2. Mike Wingate

Mike Wingate Mu-43 All-Pro

Feb 21, 2017
    Altrincham
    Mike Wingate
    Think of a number, double it and add a zero. I price things by 4 X the cost of the materials.

3. Mikehit

Mikehit Mu-43 Regular

Jan 26, 2018
    As a one-off I think that cost of materials multiplied by some fudge factor, then add post and packaging.
    In my experience, there is a price above which the buyer thinks they have got something of quality, and gives them more satisfaction than getting it for a ridiculously cheap price. What level that price is is hard to say, but my point is that you have a surprising amount of leeway before the person feels ripped off.