1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Advice, please! What lens/adaptor combination?

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by mslizzieemily, Nov 21, 2013.

1. mslizzieemily

mslizzieemily New to Mu-43

Nov 21, 2013
    Hi everyone,
    I need some advice. I've been looking for a while now (about half a year) for different lenses for my Olympus Pen E-PL1. It came with a m.zuiko 14-42mm lens, which is great for general camera use, but I want lenses for more specific uses.

I've been playing around with photography, which I have very little experience of on the technical side, but I want to learn.

So I need some advice! M4/3 lenses are a bit expensive, and don't have the greatest variety as far as I can tell. I've been looking into Canon FDs, but I'm not sure which ones have manual aperture/focus, nor what adaptors to get. I'm looking mostly at prime/pancake lenses, because I want to take better portrait type shots.

Also, what would be your advice on the first lenses, after kit, to get?

Thanks! :)

2. dadadude

dadadude Mu-43 Regular

Jun 12, 2013
    San Carlos, CA
    David
    Canon FD 50mm 1.4 is a great lens although the FD/m43 adapter is a little more fiddly than other mounts. Minolta Rokkor lenses are fantastic. The Rokkor 45mm f2.0 is a bargain and right in that sweet spot for portraits. The 50mm 1.4 and 58mm 1.4 are great lenses for portraiture also.You can get them all day long for $20-$50.

3. dwig

dwig Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 26, 2010
    Key West FL
    In general, each legacy mount requires its own specific adapter. That said, you should be aware that many lens "mount" designations are actually the meter coupling spec rather than the actual mount spec.

Two common "mounts" where this comes into play.