Advice, Please: Websites to Sell Photos and Quieting Shutters

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by penfan2010, Aug 3, 2011.

1. penfan2010

penfan2010 Mu-43 All-Pro

Nov 12, 2010
    NJ, USA
    I am covering a major event in September, and need advice in two areas:

1. Websites for Selling Photos - I need to post photos from the shoot so attendees can view, download and purchase prints afterwards. Does anyone have suggestions/experience using any of the sites out there? I have looked at Etsy.com, but was hoping for a site that displayed multiple images at once.

2. Shutter Noise - I can't remember if this has been discussed elsewhere in the forum, but it would be better if I used a relatively quiet camera for this event. I did a practice shoot last weekend with my E-PL1 and it is pretty noisy. If I recall correctly, the Oly shutter sound is all mechanical, so there is no way to dampen/soften via camera controls. The G2 seems quieter, and as I am still new to it, I am not sure if there is a way to further dampen the sound, recognizing that it will not go away completely because of the natural noise from the shutter mechanism.

I guess my ultimate back-up would be to shoot mostly on film with my Leica M3 and Canon QL17, which both have fantastically quiet shutters. I can use one of the :43: for exposure checks throughout the shoot. Subjects won't be moving fast so no need for fast AF (I was going to use MF primes anyway on the :43: bodies). That said, I would prefer the simpler workflow of shooting 100% digital with the :43:s.

Thanks in advance.

2. pxpaulx

pxpaulx Mu-43 All-Pro

Jan 19, 2010
    Midwest
    Paul
    I'm not sure there are any quiet M4/3 cameras - every one I've had has been quite audible (GF1, G1, GH1, E-p1,2,pl1). Quietest camera I've heard is my K-5 - sounds like a warm knife smacking a stick of butter, a satisfying, barely audible thunk.

Maybe some sort of light fabric wrap would help with the sound?

• Like Like x 2
  3. thearne3