1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Advice on submitting photos to contests

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by yekimrd, Jan 30, 2013.

1. yekimrd

yekimrd Mu-43 All-Pro

Jun 14, 2012
    Cincinnati, OH
    Mikey
    I was thinking of submitting photos from a local ren faire in the hopes of scoring some free tickets for next year's faire. However, when I was re-reading the rules online, it said that all photos submitted will become property of the ren faire. Is this rule common in photo contests? I would think that the photographer should always retain their rights to the photo.

Somehow, this rule does not sit well with me. I know I'm no pro but does that mean I could possibly not win anything but that they can still freely use whatever I submit for marketing purposes? That's like getting stabbed twice in the same body part. :tongue:

I've never submitted a photo to any contest before and would just want to hear what other people's thoughts are. Thanks in advance for everyone's input.

2. jloden

jloden Mu-43 Hall of Famer

May 15, 2012
    Hunterdon County, NJ
    Jay
    I think it's as you say; usually they do that so they can use the photos for promotional purposes. They did the same thing with the NJ festival of ballooning near here, running a photo contest for free VIP tickets but I'm sure the real impetus is to get quality photos for their website, emails, posters etc. :wink:

I'd just weight the benefits - if you're not a pro and not likely to sell the photos for another purpose, and you don't mind the possibility the faire would use your work publicly, I say go for it. Personally as an amateur doing this stuff for fun, I usually find it gratifying when people actually want to use my work for something, but I can certainly understand not being comfortable with losing rights to your own photo just for a simple contest too.

• Like Like x 1
  3. GaryAyala

GaryAyala Mu-43 Legend

Jan 2, 2011
    SoCal