1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Advice on buying a lens

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by prophet, Jan 20, 2015.

1. prophet

prophet Mu-43 Regular

Aug 10, 2014
    I have the kit 14-42mm and the 40-50mm for my E-PL7. I am looking for a lens for landscape and travel photography, preferably a prime lens. I am still a novice, so to match my abilities it should be reasonably priced, but not compromise too much on quality. What would you recommend?

2. keko

keko Mu-43 Rookie

May 19, 2013
    Spain
    What is limiting your photography?

Maybe a good place to start could be to ask yourself how your current gear is limiting you, or what you plan to accomplish with the new lens you would like to have.

Also, by looking at your favorite pics taken so far you could determine which focal length seems to be your preferred, that could give you a hint as to what prime options would suite you best.

Just food for thought....

• Like Like x 1
  3. barry13

barry13 Super Moderator; Photon Wrangler

Mar 7, 2014
    Southern California
    Barry
    Oly 17mm f1.8 is great; if you want wider, Pana has a 14mm pancake but it is f2.5 or so.

Pana 20mm is sharp but has slow AF in dim light.

Most other choices are more expensive.

Barry

4. prophet

prophet Mu-43 Regular

Aug 10, 2014
    One limiting factor is performance in low-light situations (am hoping that a faster lens will help here). I take most of my shots at 14mm.

5. keko

keko Mu-43 Rookie

May 19, 2013
    Spain
    Well, I do have the P14/2.5, nice lens, fairly sharp and OK construction, really tiny and it's affordable, but it won't give you much better low light performance than your zoom.

Other than that I'd go with Barry's suggestion of 17 or 20.

• Like Like x 1
  6. agentlossing

agentlossing Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jun 26, 2013
    Andrew Lossing