1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Advice? Light Beginner Travel Kit -- zoom + prime or two primes?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by wibblywobbly, Oct 16, 2014.

1. wibblywobbly

wibblywobbly New to Mu-43

Oct 16, 2014
    Hi everyone!

I've been reading quite a few threads here the past few weeks to get acquainted with the micro four thirds system and I've learned so much! You are all so helpful! This will be my first foray into the non-P&S camera world, so as you can imagine, I could use a lot of advice :redface: So a little bit about myself: I'm planning on traveling for a 3-4 months next year before starting grad school, and since I'm pretty new to photography, I thought I'd get a head start in learning and practicing before leaving.

I'll be going for the EM10 in terms of the body, but while I know I want a compact setup that's compatible with student-budget backpacking (i.e. cheap hostels, all luggage with me at all times, etc), I'm completely torn on how to approach the lenses. I'm taking a gap year and living/working in Seoul at the moment, which means while I'm on a budget, it seems most lenses are more affordable here.

Based on what I've read so far, I've narrowed down my choices to these:
    14-42mm EZ ($200 -- same price whether in kit or not)
    12-32mm ($225)
    17/1.8 ($350)
    25/1.8 ($375)
    45/1.8 ($250)

My budget is around $1000, and given the EM10 goes for $520 here, I have room to buy two lenses. So here are the options I've thought through:
    1. Compact zoom + 45/1.8 since the longer focal length isn't included in the zoom range.
    2. Compact zoom + 17/1.8 since the "normal" lens will be more useful in every day shooting and to practice with.
    3. Body + two primes (most likely 17/1.8 and 45/1.8) since I'll probably want to transition to a set of primes in the future anyways.
    4. Other suggestions??

So the question is, which option, and if option #1 or #2, which compact zoom?