1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Advice for purchasing New u4/3 camera

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by Vincible, Aug 4, 2011.

1. Vincible

Vincible New to Mu-43

Aug 4, 2011
    Hey guys~

I'm new to the u4/3 and pretty noob in general with Cameras.
    Ive been doing some research for a new camera.
    I'm coming from general P&S cameras and u4/3 cameras seems like an attractive option for me.

I was looking into e-pl2 and maybe getting a 17mm.

Do you guys think its worth it to go for e-p3? It costs a lot more.

If i do go for e-p3 it comes with the new 14-42mm kit or 17mm which bundle would you guys recommend?

I'm looking for general all around camera. And I do like the style of the pen series.

I'm open to other cameras as well. Any tips and suggests are welcome!
    Thank you!!

:biggrin:

2. pxpaulx

pxpaulx Mu-43 All-Pro

Jan 19, 2010
    Midwest
    Paul
    Well, if you're in dire need to get a camera now, and you are just upgrading from P&S territory, I'd get the E-pl2. The E-p3 is definitely a nice camera, but the E-pl2 is still great and will be leaps and bounds above point and shoot image quality. If you'd like to get the newer fast focusing cameras, I would recommend to wait for the E-pl3, as it has the same fast focus speed without some of the more costly bells and whistles on the E-p3.

Another alternative might be to find a well cared for used or refurbished E-P2 with the 17mm lens. The 17mm is nice, very compact and makes a great general focal length. If you're at all thinking about using a prime or two, it is an inexpensive place to start - I would try and find a camera with the 17mm, and then add a 14-42mm lens, as they are much cheaper and you'll probably get a slightly better deal with an e-p2/17mm bundle.

Cameta Camera sells a lot of refurb e-p2s at the moment on ebay:

Olympus-PEN-E-P2-Micro-Digital-Camera-EP2-17mm-Lens-