Advice for learning Gx7 useability

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by RzzB, Dec 14, 2013.

1. RzzB

RzzB Mu-43 Regular

Dec 14, 2013
    Hello everyone - I'm new to Mu-43 so please be gentle:)

I'm also new to Micro Four Thirds - and I'm struggling.

I have just purchase a Gx7 - and it looks like a great little camera - but I really need to get up to speed quickly with it and that's not happening.

I'm a Canon 5D III user, and know that camera, for what I use, like the back of my hand. It seems to me that the Gx7 is a different kettle of fish.

I'm going to India all February and I'm leaving the 5D III behind, so I have to get a good grasp on it before I go!

I will be shooting RAW stills only - so that removes about 90% of the clutter in the manual!

What advice would you give me to get up to speed quickly - pouring through the manual is grim. Are there any usability tutorials out there that are useful - I've searched but what I have found have been dire.

Thoughts?

RzzB

2. Repp

Repp Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jan 27, 2011
    Oak Harbor, WA
    Play with the menu system and functions till you have it set up the way you like, then just go shoot like mad in ap, sp, and manual till you feel comfortable with everything. You don't have to shoot anything fancy, just around the house, or out in the neighborhood. And remember that in the beginning, as with most things, "Slow is smooth and smooth is fast".

Hopefully my GX7 will arrive later this week, I can't wait to go play with it!

3. GFFPhoto

GFFPhoto Mu-43 All-Pro

Feb 24, 2013
    Maybe ask about what you want to do that isn't obvious. The menus are pretty simple. A lot of stuff will be personal preference, so its hard to give tips.