Advice: First camera for graphics designer

Discussion in 'This or That?' started by vimar, Nov 11, 2015.

1. vimar

vimar New to Mu-43

Nov 11, 2015
    Hello everyone,

I am looking for a camera as a gift for my girlfriend who is a graphics designer. It would be her first camera and the cost is set at around 600 euros for a kit. Overall, I would like to buy a small, versatile camera that will allow both of us to learn about lenses, manual settings, etc. at not overwhelming a cost. Later on she may upgrade to whatever feels appropriate.

For a complete beginner (as she is) the a6000 and nx500 stood out as most discussed, but all I can judge are sheet specs. I have no experience with, for example, APS-C vs m43.

I will try to give you some idea of what she might need or use it for and will be very grateful to hear your advice.
    • The camera needs to be relatively light and small, so I was looking mainly at mirrorless (the choice a6000 or nx500 has been tearing me for the last few days).
    • I believe she would use it mostly for travel, sceneries, panoramas, "family" pictures and macros. Then also she may use the pictures for posters or patterns in her graphics work. Low light performance is important. She will certainly post-process each photo. There will be the occasional video - either family or short-movie. 4k is always a bonus, but nothing to die for.
    • For the first year I don't think she will buy new lenses and if she does, I don't think more than one. So the kit lens will matter a lot. Think of her as a beginner hobbyist with a small bag.
    • Touchscreen and flip-up screen for selfies are welcome I suppose, but an EVF equally so. I am no photographer, so I can't judge, but an EVF seems crucial.
    • The camera will be used mostly without a tripod. I saw that nx500 is a bit shaky?