1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

acoustic sound of IBIS?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by physicsdude, Aug 8, 2014.

1. physicsdude

physicsdude Mu-43 Regular

Feb 11, 2014
    KS
    Jan
    Hey guys,

I just received a Om-d em10. I started playing with it and every time I push the the trigger halfway, it produces a sound. Like rushing wind/water. Apparently it's the Image stabilization. That's the normal sound?
    As soon as I turned it off, the sound disappeared.
    I am stepping up from an E-PL2 and I never heard a sound like that there. Of course it's not much of an IBIS there..

Just making sure that nothing is wrong.

Thanks

2. RobWatson

RobWatson Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Normal.

3. fortwodriver

fortwodriver Mu-43 Top Veteran

Nov 15, 2013
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Frank
    You bet! It's normal. When you slightly push the shutter button, IBIS activates and lifts the sensor into a centred, suspended mode for operation. It uses motors and solenoids to do it and, as a result, makes noise.

Nothing to worry, really.

4. HarryS

HarryS Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 23, 2012
    Midwest, USA
    A little bit of history. The OMD EM5 originally made that sound 24/7 when powered up. The first firmware update fixed it so IBIS only activated after the shutter was half pressed, which probably helps battery life and reduces wear. In addition to motors, the OMD cameras also float the sensor on magnets which accounts for the difference in sound.

My EPM1 which only has screw drive motors always sounded like it was grinding coffee beans when the IBIS kicked in on long exposures. On the other hand, my Pentax K100D, which also used magnets, produced a high pitched whine that sounded like a flying saucer from my favorite 1950's japanese sci-fi movies.

• Like Like x 1
  5. fortwodriver

Nov 15, 2013
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Frank