A question regarding Flashes for OM-D

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by syilim, Aug 21, 2012.

1. syilim

syilim Mu-43 Regular

Jan 31, 2011
    So, first off, i'm a noob with flash.

I've been using a SB-700 on my D7000 for a while. Although sometimes I get decent results using manual exposure/aperture priority, I just recently figured out that I get better keepers when using Program mode......... >.>

So anyways... I got myself a OMD as a D7000 replacement. Should I sell the SB-700 and get a similar oly flash instead?

I attend photo meets, where sometimes the organisers sync up flashes for us to use. I know that majority of them uses Nikon/Canon gear, so I need to know whether or not if I was to use Olympus flash, would it beable to sync with their nikon/canon flashes? Or better to keep my SB-700?

Pros/cons of using SB-700 over olympus flash on OM-D?

Thanks in advance

2. Ross the fiddler

Ross the fiddler Mu-43 Hall of Famer

It would work if those flashes were set to slave mode & the pop-up flash on your Olympus camera (or the added flash for the E-M5) was set to Manual at the lowest setting that can still trigger the slave flashes. They might be using a generic wireless trigger (with the sender being attached to the active camera) which would probably be OK in Auto or Manual mode on the flashes. There wouldn't be any TTL function thouigh.

3. twalker294

twalker294 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Aug 18, 2010
    If I were you, I'd sell the SB700 and replace it with the Olympus FL-600R. You aren't going to get TTL flash metering with the Nikon flash and you will with the Olympus unit.

Your other option (and the one I use since I rarely use flash with my MFT cameras,) is to get a non-dedicated flash like the Sunpak 383. You have to set the flash manually but personally I like that in a way because I have more control over the exposure than you do when the camera makes the flash exposure decision for you. Plus the 383 is less than $100.

4. syilim