1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

A question about multiple lenses that seem to serve the same purpose to a novice

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by gengo, Jun 16, 2014.

1. gengo

gengo Mu-43 Regular

May 12, 2014
    So I'm just getting started in photography as a hobby.

I have a PM2 with the two kit lenses and the P 14mm f/2.5.

As I am looking to add new lenses, I read a lot of what people have to say about various things on this forum.

I recently saw someone with my camera another MFT camera, along with the following lenses, which to my novice self seems like overkill:

- Oly 12-40 f/2.8
    - Pan 14-42 F/3.5-5.6
    - Oly 12-50 F/3.5-6.3

I understand that the first one listed above is the fastest, and I understand that it has less length than the last, but why keep the middle one?

I also can see how having two bodies might encourage / necessitate redundant lenses to minimize switching.

Again, I am a novice to photography in general. My curiosity is because I'm looking to add lenses in the most efficient way possible for my limited budget.

Thank you all for your time.

2. Rudy

Rudy Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 24, 2013
    Oakland, CA
    Having all those lenses might not be all that redundant, but carrying them at the same time sure is.
    The 12-40 is clearly the best in terms of image quality, but it is also the biggest and heaviest, gets the most attention and might be to expensive to carry / use in certain situations.
    The 14-42 is the most compact (there is more than one with the specs you mentioned) which makes it more pocketable.
    The 12-50 is a bit of a poor mans 12-40, weather sealed with a decent 12mm performance and pseudo-macro.
    So each has its uses, but again, I'm not sure why anyone would want to carry all three at the same time.
    Rudy

3. alex66

alex66 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jul 23, 2010