1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

A "Pro" wedding shot with the help of micro 4/3

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by flash, Mar 12, 2011.

1. flash

flash Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Apr 29, 2010
    1 hour from Sydney Australia.
    Gordon
    Hi All,

Sorry about this. It's going to be a long one with lots of pictures.

I'm particularly interested in (and enjoying) the ongoing discussions regarding micro 4/3 and their applications in a professional environment. I have been a working professional for nearly 20 years and I make my entire living from what I do. I love my work. Always have. And I'm still passionate about photography. Over the years I've always had a camera that was just for fun. For me. Not for "work". I've had a few of these over the years. A hassleblad Xpan, a Mamyia 7II, an old 8x10 and currently, micro 4/3.

For my wedding work I use a large 35mm kit. Currently it has two pro bodies and 8 lenses. I also have 6 speedlights , pocket wizards and a whole bunch of stuff. It's about 15 kilos (35 lbs) and I'd love to drop some of that weight, as i feel its impacting on my freedom to create the images i want. Now, there are lots of things m4/3 just can't compete in. Nothing made is going to reproduce what I can do with my 50mm 1.2, 85mm 1.2 or 135 f2. Or a Canon 5D2 at 1600 ISO. But I also carry a few things that get used rarely. I have a 16-35 that I use for maybe three or four shots per wedding. A 90mm macro I use rarely and a fisheye I use once every 5 weddings. I figure I can drop 2 bodies and three lenses and replace them with m4/3 gear with no disadvantage to myself or the client.

However there's only one way to prove the theory. Shoot an actual wedding with m4/3. A real live paid wedding.

So that's what I've done. I've taken a small m4/3 kit to yesterday's wedding. Two bodies, four lenses and a FL-36R flash. In addition to our regular gear.

A few things to note: