1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

A Nikon mirrorless full-frame? My wallet would fly open.

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by Malcolm Schweizer, Sep 19, 2016.

1. Malcolm Schweizer

Malcolm Schweizer Mu-43 Regular

Sep 10, 2012
    US Virgin Islands
    Malcolm Schweizer
    I grew up on Leica M3's (and yes, they were old back then- I inherited them). I love the design- compact, simple, functional. I wish I could win the lottery and buy a new digital Leica M, but alas I can't seem to pick the right numbers for that.

There is a rumor that Nikon is developing a mirrorless full-frame. I couldn't pull my wallet out fast enough. Even in the DSLR full-frame price range, I would buy. In fact, I would probably pare down my Mu43 gear and start switching, assuming the lenses were fairly compact like Leica. I travel for a living (posted from the Miami airport, waiting to board a flight) so compact was why I chose Mu43. I LOVE my GX1 and am waiting for a GX8 to arrive in the mail this week, but I want to play around with full frame. My brother is a Nikon D-series guy and I love th low light images he takes, but I don't want to carry around a Volkswagen-sized camera to get it.

Anyone else feel this way?

2. oldracer

oldracer Mu-43 All-Pro

Oct 1, 2010
    USA
    Why? Just because of the brand name? That doesn't make much sense to me although I was a Nikon film guy for a long time. A new mirrorless Nikon would suffer for several years, maybe forever, without a good range of purpose-built lenses. Any technical advantages in a mirrorless Nikon body are, at this point, highly speculative.

• Agree Agree x 3
  3. PakkyT

PakkyT Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 20, 2015
    New England