A newb's thread of OM-D questions

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by LowriderS10, May 23, 2013.

1. LowriderS10

LowriderS10 Monkey with a camera.

May 19, 2013
    Hello all...I'm no newb to photography (been shooting for 23 years total, 8 years digital), but I'm new to the OM-D world (in fact, I don't even have the camera yet).

I keep bumping into things I want to find out more about, but I don't want to start a new thread every time...so here's my super-thread of random OM-D questions that pop up...

#1: How good is the 3D function in-camera? I was thinking of getting the Panasonic 12.5mm 3D lens, but if you can get a decent 3D effect in camera, then I could save myself around $200 (the price of the 3D lens in Korea) and the bother of having to carry another (however small) lens around, changing lenses, etc.

Thanks in advance! :)
  2. twalker294

twalker294 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Aug 18, 2010
    There is no 3D function in the camera -- not sure what you are referring to...
  3. rozza

rozza Mu-43 Regular

Feb 2, 2013
    New Zealand
  4. LowriderS10

May 19, 2013
    According to Olympus, there is.

OLYMPUS OM-D E-M5: Feature Various Functions | Olympus Imaging Singapore

Relevant paragraph:

3D Photography

Impressive 3D images can be taken by simply following the guide instructions. Select "3D" for the scene mode, and take two images following the guide displayed on the back monitor using the Live View. The camera will then automatically create and save a 3D file (MPO format). The created image can be shown on a TV or PC that has a 3D display function. The camera also supports a 3D lens.

It appears that there are two ways to take 3D images. One in-camera and I'm guessing by moving the camera slightly to the side. The other with the dedicated 3D lens.