A new guy asks

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by Will Karstens, Nov 6, 2015.

1. Will Karstens

Will Karstens Mu-43 Regular

Sep 24, 2015
    southern california
    Will Karstens
    If I have ZERO experience with photo editing (I think it's referred to as "post"), other than cropping a photo here or there...
    Wait, wait, wait...
    I have ZERO experience with photo editing (I think it's referred to as "post"), other than cropping a photo here or there...
    And, I'm (being cheap, queezy, chicken, squeamish, tight with money, uncertain) unsure about shelling out money for a photo editing program (PC).
    And, I've found GIMP.

Have I found a good, solid program to learn to edit on?
    Is there a program that is free and others here prefer more?
    Are there tutorials in normal-speak such that I may pull my (very large super deluxe) head out of the (sphinctorial) sand?

Signed,
    Will the curious.

2. barry13

barry13 Super Moderator; Photon Wrangler Subscribing Member

Mar 7, 2014
    Southern California
    Barry
    • Winner Winner x 1
  3. Will Karstens

Will Karstens Mu-43 Regular

Sep 24, 2015
    southern california
    Will Karstens
    Thanks Barry!

4. PacNWMike

PacNWMike Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Dec 5, 2014
    Salish Sea
    Super simple, fairly full featured, FREE. By the time you figure it out you'll know what to buy...or not.

5. Egregius V

Egregius V Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 14, 2015
    Massachusetts, USA
    Rev. Gregory Vozzo
    Take your time - there are so many good choices, free and not free, that let you be creative in some way. Fortunately, you can try most commercial programs before buying them: Lightroom, DxO Optics Pro, Capture One Pro, On-1, Photomatix, and so on.