A Moment in Time May 2 U.T.C. 15:00

BBW

Super Moderator Emeritus
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
6,229
Location
Near "Playland" outside of NYC, NY, USA
This caught my eye on the front page of the New York Times website tonight.

Attention: everyone with a camera, amateur or pro. Please join us on Sunday, May 2, at 15:00 (U.T.C./G.M.T.), as thousands of photographers simultaneously record “A Moment in Time.” The idea is to create an international mosaic, an astonishingly varied gallery of images that are cemented together by the common element of time.

How do I submit my picture?

Call up this form, submit.nytimes.com/moment, which should be self explanatory. That’s all there is to it. (If you’re looking at the submission form before Sunday, May 2, or after Friday, May 7, you’ll find that you can read it but can’t actually use it. )...
For more information here is the link from the Lens Blog on the NY Times website: A Moment in Time (or, F.A.Q. on U.T.C.) - Lens Blog - NYTimes.com
 

BBW

Super Moderator Emeritus
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
6,229
Location
Near "Playland" outside of NYC, NY, USA
We are in the same time zone, so me thinks it would be.
Here’s a helpful converter.

Eastern Daylight Time is four hours behind U.T.C., meaning that it will be 11 a.m. in New York. Central Daylight Time is five hours behind, so it will be 10 a.m. in Chicago. Mountain Daylight Time is six hours behind, so it will be 9 a.m. in Denver. And Pacific Daylight Time is seven hours behind. (Good morning, San Francisco!)

It will be noon in Buenos Aires, 4 p.m. in London, 5 p.m. in Cape Town, 6 p.m. in Baghdad, 7 p.m. in Moscow, 8:30 p.m. in Mumbai (yes, there’s a half-hour difference), 10 p.m. in Bangkok, 11 p.m. in Beijing, midnight in Tokyo and 1 a.m. Monday in Sydney.
The Fixed Time World Clock - and yes, Philadelphia is the same, Don.:thumbup:
 

Streetshooter

Administrator Emeritus
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
5,138
Location
Phila, Pa USA
That just amazes me.....the way they worked this time thing out.....hmmm

p.s. Timer set for 10:58 EST...2 minute warning....hope I'm not on the toilet....
 

cosinaphile

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Dec 26, 2009
Messages
1,123
Location
new york city
1ts 10:27am as i read this , i havnt showered yet ............guess i dont have a chance to add to this unless they want a picture of a coffee cup and a piece of toast
 

Streetshooter

Administrator Emeritus
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
5,138
Location
Phila, Pa USA
Cosina,
Don't even think about an Anthora cup of coffee....
A mug is fine........

BB, watz an Anthora cup anywayz?
 

cosinaphile

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Dec 26, 2009
Messages
1,123
Location
new york city
i have one in glazed stoneware hand painted handle-less "mug" to simulate that iconic paper cup made by "mud" a ny based ceramic studio , wish i knew where its gone to .....

the new ones are printed ..sadly


i didnt know it had a proper name , in ny we simply refered to it as "that ubiquitous blue and white paper cup that every Greek greasy spoon diner seems to use" .... or something to that effect
 

BBW

Super Moderator Emeritus
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
6,229
Location
Near "Playland" outside of NYC, NY, USA
Done deal for me, too!

Here's my moment in time.<a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/otra/4571474630/" title="A Moment in Time May 2, 2010 @ 11:00AM by Otra2004, on Flickr">
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
"375" height="500" alt="A Moment in Time May 2, 2010 @ 11:00AM" /></a>

And here's a Flickr group devoted to it: http://www.flickr.com/groups/1423809@N23/pool/
 

LisaO

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
798
Location
New York Metro Area
Real Name
Lisa
Nice one BB!:thumbup:
Here is my submission for Moment in Time

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)


Girl Scout Troop 1979
Done deal for me, too!

Here's my moment in time.<a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/otra/4571474630/" title="A Moment in Time May 2, 2010 @ 11:00AM by Otra2004, on Flickr">
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
"375" height="500" alt="A Moment in Time May 2, 2010 @ 11:00AM" /></a>

And here's a Flickr group devoted to it: Flickr: The "A Moment In Time - The Moment For The New York Times" Pool
 

BBW

Super Moderator Emeritus
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
6,229
Location
Near &quot;Playland&quot; outside of NYC, NY, USA
MU-43.com members photos!

Lisa, thanks for this entry of yours - it's very endearing. Sorry I'm a bit slow in finding this thread again.

Well they're have not finished yet but look at this photo I found From Many Instants, a Moment - Lens Blog - NYTimes.com number 4 - I know someone here on our forum posted this because I saw it here first!:biggrin: There may well be more, but I just was trying to check up on where the project stood and found the latest entry in the Lens Blog from yesterday.

If anyone else recognizes this photo - it would be fun to know who took it. The caption reads that it was taken by someone in Sheffield, England and the photographer wrote "I wasn't sure what I will take a picture of so I just sat on a bench and then this family took my attention." Who took this photo?

And here's another from one of our members: #7 the closeup of the praying mantis! I recognized this one too! And I believe a third #8. And a fourth #10 from Miami... These are either from members here or from some people I have as contacts on Flickr. Maybe I'm getting carried away but I am pretty sure I've seen at least two of these photos here.:popcorm2:
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom