1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

A few questions regarding the G1

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by snyper564, Mar 22, 2011.

1. snyper564

snyper564 Mu-43 Regular

Mar 22, 2011
    Hi all I'm new here so glad to see a dedicated forum like this. I have been wanting to upgrade and take my hobby a bit more seriously and put that point and click away.

There is a sale here where I'm from wer they are selling the G1 at 75% off with the 14-42mm lens kit. I'm new to this whole 4/3 and dslr scene so I'm not sure what I should be looking for with regards to my needs.

I basically want a good camera that will last me a very long time I want to use it for wildlife and landscapes I'm planning on purchasing a 200mm lens if I do go this route so I hav a bit more zoom with regards to the wildlife. I have used a canon 350d at the kruger national park with amazing results on a 200mm lens. So this is my only dslr exposure

I have seen some unbelievable photos captured by the G1 and I was wondering as this is the place to ask will this meet my needis the G1 a good place to start this is only the G1 and no other camera. Does it match up well to the dslr image quality as well.

Thanks so much all the help is much appreciated

2. LeeOsenton

LeeOsenton Mu-43 Button Clicker

Jun 25, 2010
    Hayes, Virginia, U.S.A.
    Lee Osenton
    If the Price is Right

I had a G1 and it is a great camera for both beginners and advanced shooters. I sold mine because I wanted another DSLR and I have regretted it. After a year without a micro 4/3rds, I picked up a bargain on an E-PL1. I miss the articulating screen of the G1 and the viewfinder that allowed more precise framing. The Panasonic kit lens is very sharp and a pleasure to work with.