A couple of macro questions regarding Tamron SP 90mm f2.5

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by Frunch, Mar 4, 2012.

1. Frunch

Frunch Mu-43 Regular

Aug 5, 2011
    I am a complete noob as far as macro photography(and a photography noob in general, only been shooting about 6-7 months now). After doing some research here, I've decided to shop around for a Tamron SP 90mm f2.5 macro lens...anyway, I've got a couple questions I'm hoping someone could help me with:

I see Tamron also offers a 1:1 extension tube specifically for this lens--is that my only choice or can I adapt other brand tubes?

Another question: if this lens comes with a Nikon mount for instance, would I just get the appropriate Nikon to :43: adapter to fit it to my E-PL2?

Any other suggestions where I can find more good info regarding macro photography in general? (lenses, techniques, equipment)

Thanks! :smile:
    Trevor

2. shnitz

shnitz Mu-43 Top Veteran

Aug 25, 2011
    Austin, TX
    The extension tube is simply a piece of metal. Any extension tube will work. However, depending on the length of the extension tube, you will get different magnifications. If the Tamron lens goes to 1:2 without extension tube, then it should require a 90mm long extension tube to go to 1:1. Here is a good thread where the math is discussed:
    Extension Tube Math? - Canon Digital Photography Forums

3. photoSmart42

photoSmart42 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Feb 12, 2010
    San Diego, CA
    Depends on the tube. My Tokina 90/2.5 comes with a 1:1 tube, and it has glass in it, so it's different than simply an extension tube.

4. shnitz

shnitz Mu-43 Top Veteran

Aug 25, 2011
    Austin, TX