8-18, wait for Oly 8-25, or Laowa 10

Generationfourth

Mu-43 Veteran
I had the 9-18 a long time ago and eventually settled on 12-35, 35-100 f/2.8's for my standard zooms. And some other primes and 100-400 as well. After getting a new iPhone I've been intrigued by the UWA lens and how dynamic the images are compared to the focal lengths I've been shooting for the past 5 years. The 8-18 makes the most sense but I'm also intrigued by the other options:
  • 8-25 f/4, the extended range might be useful here. For example going mountain biking with friends the G9 is pretty heavy and I'm limiting myself to one lens. Or even going on trips I don't like taking ALL my lenses so this could be an alternative to the 12-35. On the downside if I only use the 8-12 range I wonder how much I will be letdown by f/4. As far as cost I have a seller lined up for the 8-18, but what are the chances of the 8-25 being somewhat cheaper than the 8-18? Other downside is who knows when this will come out.
  • Laowa 10 + 12-35. This was the other option I entertained because it's the cheapest but obvious downsides is having to switch lenses, no weather sealing, and not having AF which maybe a dealbreaker for some close up action that I want to take.
  • Pany 7-14, I guess there is this one to

Mike Wingate

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Real Name
Mike Wingate
There are going to be occasions when f4 is not going to be fast enough. My Panasonic 7-14mm f4 takes great photos, but in darker places, interiors, churches, it needs support, and a tripod is not always available. For myself the Laowa 7.5 mm f2 would work, I have shot landscape and inside a dark pub with it. Drawbacks for myself are the price, manual focussing and the fact that I have the P7-14mm. And an iPhone.

pake

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Real Name
Teemu