Featured: 'Hi! An Irish Dilettante living in the PNW' by Leigh

Leigh

Mu-43 Regular
Hi Everyone!

Got into photography a few years ago when I moved from Ireland to a town called Squamish in Canada. Back then I was really just taking snapshots to share with family back home.

I go on a lot of trips into the mountains so I wanted to take better photos. I first upgraded to a DSLR but, as I started learning to climb and ski it became too bulky and heavy for convenient use, the transition to MILC was natural as it's lighter and more compact without sacrificing too much IQ.

I first bought a GX1 in 2012 and used that up until a few months ago when I invested in a E-M1 and 12-40 Pro. I started doing a lot of research about getting more lenses second hand and came across this site.

Some of the images on here are stunning and I really want to learn how I can get the most out of my equipment and also how to not overcook the images in Post. I'm realizing I'm doing that a lot.

I have a flickr but don't really use it. I do some freelance writing and blogging so my photography is usually used in conjunction with that.

You can see my blog and photos here:
pebbleshoo.com

Here are some of my shots, mostly shot with the GX1 apart from the last which was shot with the E-M1:

P1080005-2-1024x769.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

P1110444-2-1024x769.jpg

P1150820-2-1024x769.jpg

P1160328-2-1024x769.jpg

P1010330-2-1024x768.jpg

I'm Irish so I have a thick skin. I love constructive criticism. I'm fine with someone saying "your composition and PP is horrible, but, here's how you can be better..."

Looking forward to posting here and learning from the wealth of knowledge and experience in this forum.

kevinparis

Cantankerous Scotsman
I'm Scottish.. so we can fight out who has the thicker skin later, preferably over a whisky :smile:

first of all.. big hats off for you including people in your landscapes... to me it makes me engage more with the image.