50mm f3.5 Leitz Elmar Collapsible Lens Concern

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by ArticFox, Oct 17, 2012.

1. ArticFox

ArticFox Mu-43 Rookie

Oct 12, 2012
    I am new to MFT and don't even have a MFT camera yet, but I hope to adapt my 1948 50mm f3.5 Leitz Elmar lens to a MFT body.

I purchased an inexpensive Asian LTM (L39) to MFT adapter. I notice that CameraQuest does not offer this adapter, but one could mount two adapters together (LTM to M + M to MFT) to achieve the same result.

My concern is the collapsible lens, as it protrudes beyond the single thin adapter into a camera body. Is this a concern? Without a sample, I would guess that the dual adapter mentioned above would cover this protrusion.

Anyone have experience with this setup?
  2. usayit

usayit Mu-43 Hall of Famer

1) I would not recommend collapsing it. Even on the Leica M8 and M9, they have recommended not using the older collapsable lenses since it could potentially impact. I use a bit of tape to prevent the lens from collapsing.
    2) All lenses are designed for a specific film flange distance. The LTM + M + MFT adapter combination will essentially have the same register as a LTM + MFT adapter.
    3) A single adapter is going to be better than a stacked set of adapters. Tolerances on them are not perfect and stacking the adapters causes even more tolerance issues.
    4) I have never had a problem with adapters from ebay via rainbowimaging. Of course they are not as high of a quality as voigtlander, novoflex etc... but they work fine. This is especially true with the M42 and LTM (M39) screw mounts because of their simplicity.
    5) If you have several screwmount type lenses, you are better off screwing the adapter to the lens and leave it attached to the lens. Its easier and faster to remove the lens from the camera via the MFT bayonet style mount.
  3. iGonzoid

iGonzoid Mu-43 Veteran

Feb 6, 2011
    Tasmania, Australia
    Tape solution...