46mm filters?

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by ssgreenley, Jul 10, 2011.

1. ssgreenley

ssgreenley Mu-43 Top Veteran

May 12, 2011
    Hi all! I'm looking at a couple of filters now that I've finally gotten my hands on a 20mm. Two questions, 1) does anyone make a multi-coated, linear polarizer? 2) how about graduated neutral density filters? Thanks!

2. ssgreenley

May 12, 2011
    *tap, tap* Is this thing on?

I'm guessing that they don't make either of these filters then. Graduated neutral density can be easily replaced by lightoom, so I understand that, but what about a good polarizer? Is it better to go uncoated linear, or should I pay extra for a circular just for the flare reducing coats?

3. thearne3

thearne3 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jan 28, 2010
    Redding, CT USA
    I'm no expert, but what would the point of multi-coating be on a linear polarizing filter? By definition, the unwanted stray light would be filtered out by adjusting the direction ring of the filter.

OTOH, a circular polarizer would need such coatings, since it has no such adjustment option.

Perhaps there are some experts who can 'shed more light' on this... :rolleyes:

4. Hikari

Hikari Mu-43 All-Pro

Nov 26, 2010
    Linear and circular polarizers do different things.

Hoya makes a multicoated circular polarizer. Polarizers are optical gratings and I am unsure if you could coat them or if it would be worth it.

Graduated neutral density is not very good in a circular mount. You would need a square filter with filter holder so you can control where in the frame the transition is.

5. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada
    46mm filter threads were used on some rangefinder lenses (like Leica), although not as common as 40.5mm. The best place to find filters for a 46mm thread is at camera exchange shops which deal in old cameras. You can also get those metal vented lens hoods for Leica lenses in both 40.5mm and 46mm thread sizes.