4 days in and two shoots later, I'm in love with the EM5.

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by stephography, Sep 17, 2012.

1. stephography

stephography Mu-43 Regular

Sep 12, 2012
    Los Angeles, CA
    Stephan
    Hey guys! Just wanted to chime in since I purchased the Oly OMD EM5 a few days ago. Four days in and I'm absolutely smitten with it!

Normally I shoot with a D700 + D7000, but I've always wanted something more portable to take along with me when I'm not shooting for other people (I wouldn't consider myself a professional, but I do occasionally shoot events, weddings, engagement and lifestyle sessions). My girlfriend and I are diehard Disney fans and each time we go, I despise the thought of lugging around a fairly large DSLR just to capture some photos of us at the park.

I've owned the Panny GF2-- loved it but it was lacking a bit in terms of physical controls (something I need and have grown accustomed to ever since I started shooting with DSLRs). I've also spent a pretty penny on the Pentax Q when it was released (super small and the body + controls were amazing for such a tiny camera), though the sensor really wasn't on par with today's offerings and quickly sold it while it was still in demand.

Enter the EM5. After hearing about it, I figured I could try the M43 setup once more before resigning to lugging my D700 around whenever the girlfriend wanted pictures (and boy was it torture around my neck, especially during those long Disneyland days). There must've been a reason why the EM5 was getting rave reviews and was constantly sold out for the first two months of its release (both on Amazon and in brick-and-mortar establishments).