1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

4/3 noob

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by gnod, Apr 28, 2012.

1. gnod

gnod Mu-43 Regular

Apr 20, 2012
    NYC
    hi everyone!
    i'm new to micro 4/3s and want to learn as much as i can before i invest in a camera. i am thinking about investing in a use panasonic gf1, but can anyone share some experiences, interesting and educational reads on 4/3s as well?

thanks!

2. Armanius

Armanius Mu-43 All-Pro

Feb 23, 2010
    Houston
    Muttley
    Welcome aboard! The GF1 is a first generation m4/3 camera. 12 mp sensor is a little outdated now. BUT, still a great and capable camera. The image quality will cream any point and shoot, and it's competitive with current m4/3 cameras with the 16 mp sensor up to ISO 800. This is of course just my opinion. I haven't had a GF1 for a while now, and I'm going from memory. I do still use the GF2, which is basically a GF1 with less physical controls, a touch screen, and slightly faster auto focus system.

3. gnod

gnod Mu-43 Regular

Apr 20, 2012
    NYC
    wow thanks for the detailed response!
    i was wondering what are some other m4/3 is should be considering? i see a lot of pen users out there.
    i think i particularly enjoyed the gf1 in my hands because of the controls and dials. i know gf2 is touch screen and i'm hesistant about that personally.

also, what can i do to read more about lens compatibility? i see many users utilizing adapter rings to use leica lens and what not! that's crazy!

4. The Minimalist

The Minimalist Mu-43 Veteran

Nov 19, 2011