1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

4 20mm f1.7 stitched images = 1 7mm image?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by cpt000, Mar 23, 2012.

1. cpt000

cpt000 Mu-43 Regular

Mar 11, 2012
    Hi,

In lieu of buying the 7-14 (wallet just gave a little yelp), would I be better off with 4 shots from the 20mm, then stitching together panorama style? Say for the gallery of a museum, for example.

2. manju69

manju69 Mu-43 Veteran

Jul 1, 2011
    Stroud, UK
    Pete
    I'm no expert but my experience is that the FOV of a lens is unique and can't really be re created by stitching or cropping. You can approximate it- but it won't look the same. Plus taking an stitching images to create a panorama has its own issues.

3. songs2001

songs2001 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jul 8, 2011
    It depends what you are after. Super wides aren't really for getting everything in a frame. If your goal is to get more stuff into a picture, panorama will do a better job than using a super wide.

4. steve16823

steve16823 Mu-43 Regular

Sep 26, 2011
    Brookfield, IL
    Is it possible? Sure. But assuming you're stitching them 4 in a square, the 4 shots perfectly stitched edge to edge with no overlap (which is obviously not going to happen in reality) would approximate a 10mm field of view. Put in some necessary overlap and you may not be much wider than the 14mm end of a kit zoom.

Would you be better off??? No way. To really get a nice looking indoor panoramic, you're going to need a tripod and a panoramic head to keep the shots aligned. This will probably cost you as much as the 7-14mm.

If the 7-14mm is too expensive, get the 9-18mm m. zuiko. If the 9-18mm m. zuiko is too expensive get a used or refurbished 9-18mm digital zuiko and adapt it. Still too much? Get the wide angle adapter for the Olympus 14-42mm. Or get the Rokinon/Samyang 7.5mm fisheye and de-fish it. In my opinion, any of these options would likely have better results than stitching the 20mm.