3 Key pieces of photo gear reviewers never talk about

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by WT21, Apr 10, 2013.

1. WT21

WT21 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 19, 2010
    From SC, I clicked on the Ming Thein review of the X20 and Nikon A

Quick first thoughts – Nikon Coolpix A and Fuji Finepix X20 – Ming Thein | Photographer

And for some reason, it suddenly clicked for me. A thought said "hey, I don't need to read this review at all!"

Since I've been pursuing the "perfect" compact camera for several years, I've been chasing gear. In chasing gear, I've read reviews. In reading reviews, I see some excellent work (Ming Thein is one great example) and some not-so-good-stuff (looking at you, Kai!).

After reading reviews, I dream of wheeling through the day, clicking away and making pictures like Ming, the guys at LL, or others, or even BurneyMeister from DPR (if you haven't seen his Canadian Rockies shots, you should!).

It's been slowly growing on me, and Ming's review made it all click. All these folks that I admire have 3 pieces of critical camera gear that I lack. Until I can afford these, I will stop chasing gear and other people's vision. These 3 critical pieces are:

1) cojones (for street shooting, or shooting in questionable urban areas)
    2) very willing subjects (be they paid models or people who are not yet tired of getting the camera pointed at them.)
    3) a travel budget

IMO, these 3 critical pieces of gear help these reviewers out. btw, that's not to say that many of them aren't also great photographers, but with my basic technical knowledge and so-so eye, I bet I could get a lot of "great shot" comments on a blog post if had the travel budget and cojones to shoot in an urban vietnamese marketplace. Just sayin'

Any rate, that's my realization for the morning. And here's my next step on my 12-step recovery from camera gear obsession: