1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

24 Foot TTL Cord

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by gsciorio, Jul 14, 2012.

1. gsciorio

gsciorio Mu-43 Top Veteran

Dec 29, 2011
    Miami, FL
    Hey everyone, I'm starting a 30 location + 3 cover editorial shoot. It's a pretty large job which will take me from now into September to shoot. I'm looking to have a large TTL cord for off camera flash when the wireless flash TTL system might have issue (around corners, bright sun).

Looks like these TTL cords should work with Olympus. Any thoughts or suggestions?

FlashZebra.com: Off Camera ETTL Cord for Canon — 7.5 Meter (24 Feet) Straight Cord (Item #0125)

Do think the larger contacts of this cord to be an advantage or potential problem?

Interfit Multi-Fit TTL Cord for Nikon/Canon/Fuji Cameras STR137

Thanks!

2. Sammyboy

Sammyboy m43 Pro

Oct 26, 2010
    Steeler Country
    Giulio,
    I've had some bad experiences using 3rd party TTL cords. The problem lies in the size of the spring loaded pins that WANT to make contact with the receiving contacts in the hot shoe on the camera. As you can see in the photo, the pins have a very large radius that rides on the insulating plastic around the receiving contacts in the hot shoe and prevent actual metal to metal contact between the pins and the hot shoe contacts. The problem is with the DATA pins, not the hot center pin. I ended up making a "safe sync" and installing inside the TTL cord head that attaches to the camera. The circuit is small enough to fit on your thumb nail and works for high powered flash units. It was designed to use the high trigger voltage (200+ VDC) Olympus Quick Auto 310 on digital cameras with max. trigger volt of 6 VDC.
    Here's the link in case you would like to make your own safe sync.

http://olympus.dementix.org/Hardware/PDFs/FlashHighVoltTrig.pdf