1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

20mm f1.7 - Did I get a defective lens?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by Ophoto, Feb 28, 2013.

1. Ophoto

Ophoto New to Mu-43

Feb 27, 2013
    Hi everyone. This is my first post, but I have been reading for awhile.
    I just recently purchased a GX1 and have been really enjoying trying to learn how to use it. I am a beginner. I have been really impressed with the indoor (semi lowlight) quality compared to my old p&s. And this is with the 14-42 kit lens.

So everything I see about the GX1 is followed by how great the 20mm f1.7 is, especially in lowlight. So I pulled the trigger on one and it arrived yesterday (brand new from B&H). I was testing last night in the house and the results were not good at all. No matter what I tried the kit lens looked better. Especially when the flash was on. With the 20mm and the flash on everything looked very orange. I was also having my 5 year old do jumping jacks and I couldn't get one picture without major blur. The kit lens was able to capture her at least once in awhile without blur.
    So my question are... Did I get a defective lens? Am I doing something majorly wrong? I don't mind manaully adjusting settings, but it has to be able to work better in iA mode (for my wife) too. Should I send it back for a replacement? Or should I just return it and practice more with the kit lens. Maybe it is because it doesn't have IS?

BTW, I had the kit lens set to 20mm during the tests.

Any advise would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

2. WT21

WT21 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 19, 2010
    Boston
    Samples and examples always help.

it could be AF speed, though. But that doesn't explain the color issue.

3. Ophoto

Ophoto New to Mu-43

Feb 27, 2013
    Thanks for the quick reply.
    I'll post some samples tonight.

4. twalker294

twalker294 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Aug 18, 2010