2019 Rolex 24 at Daytona

pwol

Mu-43 Regular
Wow…. what a race.

• I drove down from CT to Daytona for the Rolex 24. This is my first time attending/shooting a race outside of Lime Rock. It was a 2,400 mile road trip both ways that I did by myself. I put a air mattress in the back of a minivan so I can sleep along the drive and sleep right at the track parking. I slept at some huge truck stop in North Carolina on the way down, and drove back home in one straight shot, just stopping for gas and bathroom breaks.

• If anyone is into glamping, check out the Therm-a-rest MondoKing3d xxl. Its insulated with a high r value and is very comfortable. I slept so much better than I thought I would, honestly I think it was more comfortable than my bed at home.

• My original plan was to watch the race up to midnight, then sleep for ~5 hours. Then the weather forecast changed for the worst. They were saying rain was going to start at 4am, and that it would come down very hard for the whole day. So I decided to stay up for as long as I can so I can shoot as much as I can before the rain came. I ended up staying awake for the entire 24 hour race. I put the camera away and watched the race from the grandstands for the last 8 or so hours.

• The race was absolutely amazing. I fell in love with the whole 24 hour race experience at Daytona, and hope I can make it next year. Going to little 3 hour sprint races at Lime Rock is going to be so different now lol. People are calling this years Rolex 24 a classic. Brilliant racing up until the rain came. There were so many yellow flags and 2 red flags which was a huge bummer (first time they ever had 2 red flags in one race, and only had 8 red flags ever), but I still had alot of fun watching the race in the rain. I sat by turn 1 under the grandstand overhang and watched cars spin out basically every single lap. My socks/shoes were soaking wet and freezing the entire day but I still had such a good time.