1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

1857 images in a single G2 battery charge (!)

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by arpoador, Mar 6, 2011.

1. I know, it sounds implausible.

The Panasonic G2 battery is rated for 390 shots, but I regularly get 400-500. That even seems odd because I always use the screen instead of trying to peek through the little hole. (Unless it's very bright & sunny, and the viewfinder is the less bad of two unfortunate options.)

So...
    I put the G2 on a tripod, hooked up my intervalometer, tilted the screen so that I could see it from where I would be walking and sitting, and let it go. I had the camera set to Aperture mode, and the adapted Nikon lens cranked down to f/11. (I wanted to see stars.) I was shooting Large JPEGs at 9:16 ratio.* These were downsized (and otherwise unedited) in Lightroom.

I started shooting at 5-second intervals, and left the screen on. As night fell, the camera reached a 5-second exposure, which immediately doubled the interval (the G2 takes 5 more seconds to process a 5-second exposure), and then continued to increase, so the movement speeds up.

But here's the catch: I thought the images had grown static an boring, but I left it running when I realized I already had over 800 images. It stopped at 1857. That's an unusual situation, no doubt, but still an impressive number of images with one charge!

Here's the video: [ame="http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=10150152868206660"][click here][/ame]
    Note: It's in HD 1080p, if you click through to facebook to watch it.

It's not a particularly interesting video (I'm still just experimenting with the whole thing) but it does illustrate how much the lowly G2 can do.

* Large JPEGs was an intermediate step. I had been shooting RAW, then switched to JPEG for one-step import into QuickTime - only to discover that this generated humongous files. I'm now shooting Small JPEGs.

2. VasManI

VasManI Mu-43 Regular