$150. What lenses would you get for video? (novice on a GH2)

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by peripatew, Nov 22, 2010.

1. peripatew

peripatew Mu-43 Regular

Nov 21, 2010
    I'm making the switch to a GH2 (when they start shipping) from a D3000.

Primarily I'm making the switch so I can do video. The more I read, the more excited I am about 4/3's and the GH2, especially the easy adaptability of old lenses.

Since I'm new to 4/3 and video on anything with lenses, I'm not sure where to start. I'm going to pickup with GH2 w/ the 14-42mm lens, and at some point in the future the Panny 20mm. The rest of my lenses for now I'd like to be old MF lenses.

I know it will likely take a lot of getting used to MF, and that's why I'd like some recommendations on lenses to start with.

Should I stick with one brand? Minolta or Pentax for example? Seems that having one converter would be cheaper.

What focal lengths would be good to start with to help me experiment as I continue to learn more? (I thought a ~28, ~50, and a ~85/100)

I welcome any helpful advice, even if it's anti-adapting.
  2. OzRay

OzRay Mu-43 Legend

Jan 29, 2010
    South Gippsland, Australia
    Ray, not Oz
    You should really Google videography forums etc and find out what type of lenses are used by DSLR videographers. It's not just a matter of brand, it has a lot to do with what you are shooting and what you need for the scenes. If you've never really shot video in a semi-serious way, a basic video/film course would be the best thing to do before buying anything. Otherwise, you're entering a whole world of hurt and disappointment.

3. tamoio

tamoio Mu-43 Regular

1st, check out this place:DVXuser.com -- The online community for filmmaking Lots of information, not all of it useful for beginners and as always far too many experts. But sorting through it is half the fun.

2nd, consider getting the 14-140 kit lens that is "optimized" for video work.