1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

12-35mm f/2.8 vs. Oly 17mm and PL25mm

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by sigamy, Jan 20, 2016.

1. sigamy

sigamy Mu-43 Regular

Dec 4, 2012
    I keep thinking that some day I will do more street and landscapes...I don't have a wide prime, only the 14-45 PZ and the 14-45mm kit. I shoot family photos with the PL 25mm f/1.4, my only prime.

I've wanted the 12-35mm f/2.8 for quite a while. But I'm wondering if I'd be better served with the Oly 17mm f/1.8? I'd then have two of the best primes in the system, with good distance between them. But is the 17mm wide enough for landscapes? (honest question as I don't know...)

The Pro zoom is around $600 used. The Oly 17mm around $325 used.

I'm just a hobbyist and I'm not a pixel peeper. I'd like good sharp photos and nice subject isolation. I also need good low light, taking pics indoors at family parties, etc.

So...what would you do?

2. budeny

budeny Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 4, 2014
    Boulder, CO
    I think zooms are irreplaceable for landscapes. Unlike with street and family photos you won't be able to frame or zoom much with your legs/position.
    It's also the big difference even between 14mm and 12mm, so 17mm will be a lot narrower.
    You can see if zoom fits you by trying used Pany 12-32mm/3.5-5.6 lens. It's just ~$150-$170 used and not that far in IQ from 12-35mm/2.8

Last edited: Jan 20, 2016
  3. Klorenzo

Klorenzo Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 10, 2014
    Lorenzo
    You can use the zoom to check how the 17mm feels like. It's more a normal lens then a wide one. For wide landscapes you usually start at 14mm, 12mm or less. But you can do landscapes with a tele lens too, to isolate small parts of a wide and distant scene.

Another difference is size, another one is speed: indoor 2.8 vs 1.8 is something that matters. But you already have the f/1.4 lens for low light situations.