$100 cashback.. feel like I want to buy something!

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by Ted, Jan 2, 2015.

1. Ted

Ted Mu-43 Regular

Oct 10, 2014
    Tasmania, Australia
    Theo B
    So, I've got some Christmas money that I feel I should spend on something "fun" rather than bills and Olympus are doing a $100 cashback on lenses at the moment.. it's a no brainer! I currently have the 12-50 kit lens, the 17mm 1.8 and the 45mm. I love my primes but have noticed they are a little niche.. the 17 is killer for walk about street stuff and the 45 for portraits, but I quickly learnt on holiday that I used the zoom a lot more when bushwalking and doing landscape stuff, so maybe I should sell it off and get the PRO? Then again, I am far from a pro myself, and maybe I'd not see any difference in my photos (quicker aperture would be nice though) and I'd have more fun if I picked up the 60mm macro? I do enjoy the macro mode on my current zoom and this would just give me more of that! Then again, I sometimes feel the need for more reach so perhaps the 75-300 could fit.

I realise this is entirely a personal thing and I'm comparing apples and oranges, but basically just hoping that someone here is passionate enough about one of these to convince me :tongue: My current line of thought is to get either the macro or the 75-300, as I figure in a few years I'll probably upgrade my E-M5 and I can just get the Pro kit then. What do you think? Where is the most fun to be had?

2. EarthQuake

EarthQuake Mu-43 Top Veteran

Sep 30, 2013
    What about the 9-18mm? Ultra wides are soooo much fun. Or even the Samyang 7.5mm 3.5 fisheye, $100 gets you about 40% there!

• Like Like x 1
  3. TassieFig

TassieFig Mu-43 Top Veteran

Oct 28, 2013
    Tasmania, Australia
    Me, I'd go for the 75-300 and I just did :smile: