1. Welcome to Mu-43.com—a friendly Micro 4/3 camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

1 Lens for Family Vacation - What Would you pack?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by HaViet, Apr 22, 2019.

1. HaViet

HaViet Mu-43 Veteran

Mar 20, 2014
    Hartford, CT
    Hi all,

I am an amateur that enjoy good photos, and love to take some nice shots of family and friends. I am still shooting with an Oly EM10 and its stock 12-42mm lens. I like to purchase 1 good lens for our next family vacation this summer.

I like to ask all the experts here; if you can take only 1 lens with you on your family vacation to take shots of your family, friends, and some landscapes. What would you choose?

Prime lens, zoom lens? Oly, Pana, Sigma? Which one and why?

Thanks much for your responses.

2. twigboy

twigboy Mu-43 Top Veteran

Sep 10, 2016
    Virginia
    I'd take my Panasonic 12-35mm because that is one I have. I know, that is just like stating why the chicken crossed the road, but do you find anything missing with the 14-42 now for these purposes? I like my Olympus 14-42 (not EZ).

• Agree Agree x 2
  3. Canonista

Canonista Mu-43 Top Veteran Subscribing Member

Sep 3, 2011
    Southern California
    Family vacation means maintaining a reasonable balance between keeping the family happy and trying to enjoy your hobby. For me, that means a zoom, with perhaps a fast prime (17 or 20mm) for indoor and evening shots. What is your budget? Last year I bought the Olympus 12-100 f/4, and that lens has been glued to my G9. A less expensive option may be the Olympus 12-200, or a 14-150. The Panasonic 14-140 is also said to be a very good all around lens.

• Agree Agree x 3
  4. Ranger Rick

Ranger Rick Mu-43 Veteran Subscribing Member

Apr 11, 2009
    Tempe, AZ
    Rick