LR 4.3 is out

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by TDP, Dec 13, 2012.

  1. TDP

    TDP Guest

    Looks like it adds PL5 RAW support
    Advertisement
     
  2. dhazeghi

    dhazeghi Mu-43 Hall of Famer

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,177
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    Real Name:
    Dara
    Also the E-PM2 and Panasonic GH3. Looks like m4/3 is all up-to-date!
     
  3. dav1dz

    dav1dz Mu-43 Top Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    926
    Location:
    Canada
    I admit this is one advantage of Aperture, RAW support update is OS wide and separate from the app.

    Lightroom's update mechanic is pretty archaic.
     
  4. dhazeghi

    dhazeghi Mu-43 Hall of Famer

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,177
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    Real Name:
    Dara
    I see that as a disadvantage. Lightroom will run on OS X 10.6-10.8. Apple RAW updates are for the current OS only (10.8 in this case).
     
  5. jloden

    jloden Mu-43 Hall of Famer

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    2,676
    Location:
    Hunterdon County, NJ
    Real Name:
    Jay
    Awesome, just updated and now I'm fully supported for RAW in LR without having to run the RC release, which is always nice.
     
  6. TDP

    TDP Guest

    No improvement for processing X-E1 RAW though :(
     
  7. jloden

    jloden Mu-43 Hall of Famer

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    2,676
    Location:
    Hunterdon County, NJ
    Real Name:
    Jay
    I'm starting to wonder if Adobe have any plans to address the "smearing" complaints at all. At first I figured they'd sort it out in short order, but the X-Pro1 has been out for quite a while and they've not shown any indication of working on it.

    Personally I haven't seen the smearing issue but then 1) I haven't shot all that many images with the X-E1 yet (few hundred) and 2) They weren't landscapes or other images likely to be affected by it. I'm not freaked out about it and will continue to shoot RAW + JPG, but it'd definitely be nice if they'd address it.
     
  8. sammykhalifa

    sammykhalifa Mu-43 Top Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Pittsburgh PA
    Real Name:
    Neil
    Have you noticed any difference other than the camera support? I keep on not updating.
     
  9. RT_Panther

    RT_Panther Mu-43 Legend

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    5,934
    Location:
    Texas
    Note: Us Photoshop Elements 11 users get the update too :smile:
     
  10. drd1135

    drd1135 Zen Snapshooter Subscribing Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,117
    Location:
    Southwest Virginia
    Real Name:
    Steve
    Yeah! I was able to open all those new orf files. Since I didn't load the Olympus software, this is my first chance o see E-PL5 RAW files.
     
  11. jloden

    jloden Mu-43 Hall of Famer

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    2,676
    Location:
    Hunterdon County, NJ
    Real Name:
    Jay
    Since when, the RC? Or a previous version?

    I see a few new icons and such but that's all I've noticed so far. But I've not edited anything yet so there may be other changes.
     
  12. sammykhalifa

    sammykhalifa Mu-43 Top Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Pittsburgh PA
    Real Name:
    Neil
    I actually think I still have 4.1 or 4.2.
     
  13. RobWatson

    RobWatson Mu-43 Hall of Famer

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    California
    • Like Like x 2
  14. sammykhalifa

    sammykhalifa Mu-43 Top Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Pittsburgh PA
    Real Name:
    Neil
    Thanks. I remember seeing that now that I see it again. :) None of the stuff has really mattered to what I've done in LR, but I should just go ahead and do it.
     
  15. RobWatson

    RobWatson Mu-43 Hall of Famer

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    California
    These ones always got me ...

    Lightroom hangs while changing the Exposure adjustment by typing in a numeric adjustment. Please note that this only occurs when the Enter key is not typed to confirm the adjustment and another Develop adjustment is tried. Also please note that this only occurs on Windows.

    TIFF files can experience tonal shifts within Lightroom.
     
  16. jloden

    jloden Mu-43 Hall of Famer

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    2,676
    Location:
    Hunterdon County, NJ
    Real Name:
    Jay

    Heh, now that you mention it, that first one did happen to me once or twice recently, but I couldn't figure out what exactly I did. Now I know, after it's been patched haha. Usually LR is really solid so it really surprised me when I managed to crash it, glad that's fixed at least.
     
  17. addieleman

    addieleman Mu-43 All-Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,043
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Real Name:
    Ad
    Actually started saving files in PSD-format to avoid this problem. It never occurred to me that this could be a Lightroom problem...
     

Share This Page