Shotgun Mics for Olympus Pen

Discussion in 'Filmmaking' started by Jez, Oct 9, 2012.

1. Jez

Jez New to Mu-43

Hi,
    I've been filming wildlife with an Olympus Pen E-PL1 (connected to a Sigma 500mm lens via an adapter), and getting quite good sound with the Olympus ME51S external microphone. However, I want more directional sound, so tried two shotgun mics - a Hama RMZ-10, and a Sony ECM-CG50. Both gave extremely low volume sound, to the point of being almost inaudible. I tried using a pre-amp, and turning up the gain, which helped a bit, but not enough.
    Anyone used a shotgun mic successfully with my camera (or similar), and which one was it? (I'm a total novice at this as you can no doubt tell.)
    Thanks.
    Advertisement

2. Sammyboy

Sammyboy m43 Pro

3. Jez

Jez New to Mu-43

Thanks for the suggestion.
    I was wondering whether any shotgun mics would give good results plugged directly into the EMA-1 mic. adapter (like the ME51S), or whether a pre-amp would likely always be needed with a shotgun mic to boost the volume?

4. speedandstyle

speedandstyle Mu-43 Hall of Famer

How far away are the animals? Shotguns are very directional but don't reach extremely far. I have done sound for movies and moving the shotgun back just a few feet can make the audio unusable{and get you yelled at by the sound mixer and maybe the assistant director:rolleyes:}. As a general rule the longer the shotgun the longer distance it can pick up but it also tends to pic up a narrower frequency range. Shotgun mics are set for the human range and it could be that the animals are higher/lower in frequency? You might want to check out a parabolic mic{they can be home made!}.

5. Gerald

Gerald Mu-43 Regular