1. Default Please help with choice (perhaps E-PL1 or G2?)

Hi All,

I'm new to mu-43 (and the world of photography beyond point and shoot) and was hoping to get some help.

I'm planning on purchasing a new digital camera very soon. My primary goal is to improve image quality without overly increasing the complexity of the process. I'll mainly be shooting regular stuff - my niece and nephew, travel, holidays, etc., along with some landscapes from hiking.

After searching around for a camera with better image quality and decent portability and ease I stumbled onto the MFT format, which seems pretty cool. I've somewhat narrowed in on the E-PL1 and the G2. I realize they're not exactly comparable (the GF1 being closer to the E-PL1), in particular in regards to size and price.

I've been pouring over your very helpful forums (and those elsewhere, plus numerous reviews) and am still not quite settled on which I prefer, even after trying them both out in the store. Both were relatively comfortable to hold.

Since I'm coming from the point and shoot world I'm hesitant to delve too deeply (at least initially) into post processing. This, along with the camera's compactness has me leaning towards the E-PL1 (from all the people who rave about the out-of-camera jpegs). However, I like the articulating lcd and the controls better on the G2 (the buttons seemed better arranged for my hands, the touchscreen made it easy to chose a focus point or adjust other settings and the way moving the focus ring in AF+M automatically engages the zoom was very cool). The inclusion of a viewfinder on the G2 seems interesting too, though I've never had one before and don't know how much I'd use it (I realize there's an accessory viewfinder available for the E-PL1, though it makes it much closer to the same size and price as the G2).