Default Shotgun Mics for Olympus Pen

Hi,
    I've been filming wildlife with an Olympus Pen E-PL1 (connected to a Sigma 500mm lens via an adapter), and getting quite good sound with the Olympus ME51S external microphone. However, I want more directional sound, so tried two shotgun mics - a Hama RMZ-10, and a Sony ECM-CG50. Both gave extremely low volume sound, to the point of being almost inaudible. I tried using a pre-amp, and turning up the gain, which helped a bit, but not enough.
    Anyone used a shotgun mic successfully with my camera (or similar), and which one was it? (I'm a total novice at this as you can no doubt tell.)
    Thanks.

I use a Zoom H2 as a pre-amp and an Audio-Technia ATR6550 Condenser Shotgun Mic with good results. A wind filter is a must, other wise there will be a lot of wind noise recorded.

Audio-Technica - Microphones, headphones, wireless microphone systems, noise-cancelling headphones & more : ATR6550 Condenser Shotgun Microphone

H2 Handy Recorder

Thanks for the suggestion.
    I was wondering whether any shotgun mics would give good results plugged directly into the EMA-1 mic. adapter (like the ME51S), or whether a pre-amp would likely always be needed with a shotgun mic to boost the volume?

How far away are the animals? Shotguns are very directional but don't reach extremely far. I have done sound for movies and moving the shotgun back just a few feet can make the audio unusable{and get you yelled at by the sound mixer and maybe the assistant director}. As a general rule the longer the shotgun the longer distance it can pick up but it also tends to pic up a narrower frequency range. Shotgun mics are set for the human range and it could be that the animals are higher/lower in frequency? You might want to check out a parabolic mic{they can be home made!}.
    Olympus E-PL1, E-PL2, E-P3
    VF2 two of them!