How do I cancel my account?
For additional privacy, you are welcome to remove the information in your User Profile
(Email address, Instant Messaging names, Location, etc.).
If you have subscribed to any forums or threads, have asked for email notifications, and are no longer interested in receiving those messages, delete the subscriptions on your List Subscriptions
If there are exceptional circumstances, such as an employment contract, that require that your account be canceled to prevent you from logging in, use the Contact Form
to let us know. We'll probably direct you to this FAQ section unless you tell us you've already read it!
Canceling an account does not remove previously made posts from the forums, nor quotes of those posts by other members. If you are concerned about information in one of your previous posts (e.g., it contains too much personal information), you can edit the body of the post yourself. Post/thread titles are permanent in some forums and cannot be edited. You also cannot delete threads which you have started
. We will not delete your posts for you and strongly discourage you from editing or deleting large numbers of previous posts, since that may leave thread discussions "broken" or confusing to those who read them in the future.
Be sure to edit any posts you want to edit before canceling your account. Once your account has been canceled, your posts will all be labeled "Guest" under your username (which will remain unchanged - we will not change usernames for canceled accounts). You will no longer be able to edit them, and we will not do it for you.
Adapted from the MacRumors.com FAQ